Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel or work in that country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recent years have witnessed a constant rise in the frenzy of studying a second language, and many have started to wonder about the factors behind such a phenomenon. While some believe that this is merely due to the need to visit and get employed in other countries, others remain that there are supposed to be some alternative reasons. Personally, I maintain that there are more than two contributing factors to learning a foreign tongue. Tourism and employment are indeed two significant motives. Whether it is dropping by an exotic nation for a short period, or it is about finding a job there, one has to stay in an unfamiliar environment, where they will inevitably face the necessity of daily communication with the locals. To embrace life better and manage to handle unexpected situations, overcoming linguistic obstacles constitutes a must-do for foreigners. For example, once the language challenges are removed, a tourist abroad can get more involved in local cultural activities, and someone who is hired for an overseas occupation can deal with business partners and colleagues with more ease. Whereas, there is another incentive that has to be taken into consideration, education. For instance, potential exchange students have to pass language tests to receive an unconditional offer from their dream schools abroad. Also, for those who have already started academic training in states where the foreign tongue is used dominantly, they are required to have a master of such speech in order to read and write course essays and graduation papers. Linguistic ability is considered by scores of educational institutions as a basic requirement to pursue advanced learning. To conclude, to study another speech is necessary not only for paying a visit or qualifying a profession once people leave their motherland,but also it is fundamental for further study.