Nowadays, more people are choosing to socialize online rather than face to face. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays the trend of socialising online is increasing day by day. People do not like to meet others in person and prefer meeting online. I strongly believe that this is a negative development. There are different problems that can arise from society socialising online. Firstly, it can lead to depression. In the name of communication, technology is creating a gap between humans. Meeting online lacks intimacy while meeting someone in person makes the relationship stronger and long-lasting. Moreover,Physical proximity relieves stress as whenever one is feeling emotionally down, a warm hug can make them feel better which is not possible online. It is human tendency to have face to face interaction with others, which makes them feel better and cures depression. The second negative is that it is risky in terms of security. People make fake identities on social media platforms like Twitter, Facebook and Instagram and trap innocent people. This type of cybercrime is most popular in developing countries, where such criminals are mostly involved in human trafficking. Cyberbullying is also a major issue, as the person on the other side of the screen can misuse one’s chats and bully them. Apart from that hacking personal information also puts an individual’s security in danger. Finally, there are some health-related drawbacks due to online socialisation. Spending too much time on mobile phones and computers for socialising can lead to an unhealthy lifestyle which causes obesity. Increased screen time is also the reason behind poor eyesight,especially among teenagers. Apart from that it also affects the brain capacity to focus and learn new things. In conclusion, I would like to stick to my point of view that online conversations have changed the idea of socialising in a negative manner.