Fossil fuels are themain source of energy around the world. However, people are being encouraged to use alternative energy sources such as wind energy, solar energy and so on. Do you think this is a positive or negative development and why.

In the world today, there is an ongoing debate about the most beneficial and healthy source of energy. While the usage of fossil fuels is still prevalent, I believe that encouraging the use of other alternatives such as solar and wind is a positive development and this essay would explain in detail as well as cite relevant examples. All around us we see the impact of fossil fuels which can no longer be overlooked. This energy source is generated by burning different harmful substances that are released into the air we breathe and consequently leading to diseases especially respiratory-related. For example, studies conducted at the University of Port Harcourt teaching hospital Nigeria revealed that 80% of the deaths occurring in that area are respiratory-related due to the activities of an oil-servicing firm located nearby. Additionally, it powers our vehicles which contributes immensely to air pollution because of a dramatic increase in the number of cars on the road. Solar and wind energy are substitutes for fossil fuels and unharmful to health. Although these alternatives can be expensive to set up, I believe their effect on our health should be put above cost. They occur naturally and require no human effort to be produced making them more reliable and not hazardous. Solar for instance is from the sun, all that is required is a panel for transmission and it's ready for use. It will particularly be beneficial for developing countries in Africa because it will save them the enormous cost of generating and transmitting fuels that can be used for other important needs such as good roads and quality healthcare. In conclusion, although we have gotten used to fossil fuels as our main source of energy, this, however, has proved to be unhealthy and dangerous to humans due to its effect on climate change. Considering other sources which are less harmful should be paramount and encouraged for a better future.