Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities. To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

Technology nowadays has become an inseparable part of our daily life routine, it involves many aspects from how to communicate with each other to the entertaining activity that we enjoy in this essay. I will be discussing why I believe that technology has brought us more pros than cons. To begin with, it is undeniable that technology has made our life much easier and more convenient. For instance small things such as washing the dishes in the past used to take effort and time from us but thanks to the advanced technology that created useful tools such as the dishwasher which helped us save time and effort. Moreover, many companies are taking a new approach by encouraging their employees to work from the comfort of their home which saves them space in the office and also decreases the amount of carbon emission due to the fact that fewer people are using vehicles to travel to their workplace. Furthermore, during the, pandemic the only that people were able to communicate was through online platforms which actually was a lifesaver for many this is indeed evidence that technology has become an essential part of our lives. However, we can ignore that technology has brought us many disadvantages.people especially children are becoming more and more addicted to the use of devices such as computers and phones, as a, result these individuals are becoming more socially withdrawn and this could lead to serious health issues such as depression, anxiety and obesity. A recent study that was conducted in the UK showed that the amount of obesity in children between the age of 7 to 12 have dramatically increased compared to 20 years ago and the main reason for this is that these youngsters are spending more time playing video games rather than playing outside with others. To sum up, although there are some negatives that come with advanced technology which eventually affect society in a bad way, I do believe that the advantages that technology brings to us are much more valued than its disadvantages.