When you learn a foreign language, all four skills (listening, reading, speaking, and writing) are equally important. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people get hold to the idea that to learn a new language, we should have a balanced knowledge of speaking and listening as well as writing and reading. I, however, believe that listening and speaking skills have a more significant role since they are necessary for daily interactions, while we can use smart gadgets to perform other items for us. The main purpose of studying a new language is to get the ability to interact with those who are native to that. To achieve this goal, verbal communication skills, which includes speaking and listening, are more important compared to the written ones. For example, in Canada, where I live, when business owners want to learn French to be able to expand their market in Montreal, they start to use french vocabularies in conversations, which helps them to answer their francophone customer's questions while they almost never need to learn writing in that language. This shows the prominent role of the mentioned skills in contrast to written ones. Moreover, most written materials can be translated by using new gadgets which are available on smartphones, eliminating the need to learn reading in foreign languages. For instance, Google translate software, which is available on most of Android phones, can translate texts in more than one hundred languages, providing the ability to comprehend all their written materials. As a result, it is almost unnecessary to spend time learning any new alphabets. in conclusion, verbal skills such as listening and speaking should be studied more extensively than written ones.