Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children.) To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, it has become quite common for many schools to abandon exam-oriented education and adopt quality education, where unpaid community service is gradually becoming a compulsory part of high school programmes. Some people believe it is justified and I tend to agree with the view. One primary reason is that engaging in unpaid community service, where students often need to communicate with individuals in various age groups and address pressing problems from children or elderly people, is beneficial for them to improve their skills, such as the ability to solve problems and communicate. These abilities are crucial for their academic study and future life. In addition, it contributes to the well-being of the community without increasing the financial budget, because with these students ' unpaid help, the environment may be improved and the problems of the older may be tackled instantly. However, it is undeniable that this discipline may lead to some adverse effects. The period of studying in high school is prime for everyone to acquire academic knowledge as much as possible. Therefore, studying is the priority for them, rather than spending time participating in unpaid community service. Besides, the pressure from study and peers is immense, so these young people should make full use of their precious free time to loosen up, as opposed to taking part in other mandatory activities unrelated to studying. On the other hand, from my perspective, community service is often physical activity, which can assist students to release stress from study. Also, study is not only gaining knowledge but also enhancing abilities. In conclusion, I tend to agree that high school students should spare some time to engage in unpaid community service to boost their skills and the harmony of the community.