Increasing the prices of petrol is effctive way of reducing pollution and traffic.Do you agree or disagree. what other measuredo you think might be effective.

The increase in prices of petrol is the most appropriate method to solve the problems like the increasing traffic and pollution. This essay completely agrees with this statement as higher prices of petrol would mitigate the use of private vehicles. The improvement in public transport amenities would also be the most effective way of overcoming traffic and pollution issues. The increase in petrol rates would reduce the number of automobiles or other personal vehicles to a great extent. This is because most people would not be able to afford to spend too much money on petrol by going beyond their budgets. Therefore, this would encourage individuals to use public transport the most, reducing the number of cars moving on the freeway. For instance, in Japan, the very high price of petrol enabled people to use buses and tubes for their travel purposes that have made Japan be one of the green countries. Other than this, improvement in the buses and train services would also be significant in controlling traffic and pollution. This is to say, reasonable fair prices along with fast services of the public transport would enable most people to use those services on a regular basis. As a result, it would raise the economy of a nation causing a win-win situation. In Australia, for example, the bus and train stations are available every two miles providing services every 5 minutes that is more convenient to Australian people than their cars and motorbikes. In conclusion, the higher prices set for petrol would make people avoid the use of their own vehicles, and the improvement in public transport would also be an effective measure in reducing pollution and traffic congestion.