In many countries, obesity among children has drastically increased. Parents should be held responsible if their children are obese. What are your views on the subject?

The number of overweight children has surged vastly in a few nations so parents should be held accountable for their health. I believe that, providing proper nutrition by limiting their fast food intake and including physical activities, families can change their offspring lifestyle which can help to maintain a healthier weight. Firstly, parents should take care of their offspring by monitoring their health status in relation to weight gain, and encouraging them to partake in sport and exercise. Without any doubt, elders of the family have a great influence on the minds and health of the younger ones, and adopting an active lifestyle leads to the fitness of the whole family. For instance, when my elder brother goes to play football early in the morning, my nephew follows him and accompany him daily. Secondly, in this fast-paced corporate culture, there is less or no time for the working parents to cook healthy meals at home, thus opting for ready-made meals becomes a contributing factor for obesity. Nevertheless, heads of the house have to play their role in combating these health pandemics, however, policymakers also need to come with some long-term solutions to alleviate this issue. To further explain, the administration should frame some laws and regulations for the advertisements of fast food which specifically targets teenagers, who in fact constitute the bulk of the customers at these establishments. For example, more than half of the seats at Mac Donald's are occupied by teenagers, despite the food over these places has been proven to be unhealthy. In conclusion, the widespread disease of overweight should be dealt with with the combined efforts of both parents at a family level, as well as the health ministry of the nation, to counteract the effect of sedentary lifestyle trending in societies.