Competitiveness is a positive quality for people in most societies. How does competitiveness affect individuals? Is it a positive or negative trend?

In modern societies, people tend to be more competitive. In my perspective, this is a positive trend, which affects a lot of individuals. First of all, competitiveness causes many problems in people ’s lives. Firstly, it affects personalities. A person who has competitiveness is often being conceited and self-absorbed. For example, when having conflicts with a competitive person, their parents, friends or lovers often suffer as they are unwilling to compromise. As a result, competition will cause huge rifts between their relationships. In addition, an intense level of competition in a workplace can create an unhealthy working environment. This is because of the competitiveness between employees. As a consequence, this type of environment not only does not promote productivity but also makes some workers feel uncomfortable. However, there are many benefits people can earn by having competitiveness. First of all, competition helps people reach their life goals. A competitive person often strives to be better and being more patient than others, so that they can achieve their aim early. For example, a student who has competitiveness often tries to get high grades and studies harder than their peers. Thus, this sense of rivalry brings them a nice learning outcome. Besides, having competition means it is easier to get knowledge. Being competitive can motivate people to study or work harder. The more effort they put in, the more knowledge they have. Afterward, they can achieve better results. In conclusion, competitiveness plays an important role in our life. In my opinion, it is better to have competitiveness. However, people should find a way to balance when being a competitive person, otherwise the consequences can be severe.