Today family members do not eat meals together. Why? Is it a positive or negative trend?

Due to the constant development and high requirements from society, people are striving to make ends meet and reach a higher status. In consequence, the majority of the population spend fewer hours with their families and there has been a decline in family grub. This essay attempts to outline some reasons and give an assessment for this trend. There are many explanations for the absence of family grub. For the majority of families, it is difficult for the member to have the same schedule, therefore they are unable to eat grub together. For example, parents may overwork at their offices and children may run back and forth between different classes at night. Moreover, the far distance between workplace and house discourages many people to travel such length for a meal. Another possible reason is that access to many mom and pop stores also invite the member to eat out instead of home-cooked food which requires time to prepare and clean up the aftermath. Therefore, it is intelligible why the community inclines to eat individually. Assessing whether this is a good or bad habit has led to controversies. On the one hand, eating individually can save up a lot of hours and effort to travel, especially for people whose schedules are hectic. On the other hand, the disappearance of family grub will create distance between members. Eating denotes the time when people have small talks to discuss their affairs and show their affections to other members. Were it not for family grub, children cannot voice their problems for parents to resolve as well as the adult cannot keep track of the development of their offspring. As a result, the relationship between the kith and kins becomes apathetic and this will have a negative effect on their well-being. In conclusion, taking family grub for granted have good short term benefits for an individual to narrow downtime travelling home as well as preparing dishes. However, in the long run, the absence of family meals will freeze the relationship between family members.