Many men and women are making the decision to have children later in life. Why is this trend occurring? What are the impacts of this development on both family and society?

Nowadays it’s more widespread to become parents at an older age than it was in the past. This essay will consider potential causes and observable impacts on personal and social life. In the first place, a lot of people now look for a longer period of time for themselves only pointing to self-development, a career or just endless pleasure. So they come to the idea of living for others much later and then discover a possibility of further evolving when becoming parents. For example, after discovering that their career path has some limitations or they start feeling tired from the endless run, they turn to other sides of life, sometimes after restoring connections to their own parents. Furthermore, most older parents already have their own separate houses and live in pairs without any other relatives. It causes breaks in processes of transferring family wisdom and traditions, such as fairy tales and songs by grandmas. For example, instead of spending time telling traditional stories themselves or relying on grandparents, a lot of moms use electronic devices to play those stories and songs. Also, this trend is visible in the bigger picture at the society level. Living more isolated, in comparison to past ages, causes less communication between generations. The situation forces first -time parents to look for answers about how to handle babies on the internet and use babysitters services. For instance, search requests statistics showcase an increased number of questions related to babies upbringing and the popularity of mom’s forums and chats. In conclusion, independent from exact reasons of later parenthood, most of the impacts are the same and mostly connected to the observable gap in generations communications and breakthroughs in family traditions.