Although many people value their public parks, this space could be better used for other purposes such as residential areas for the ever growing population or to develop business and boost economies. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

In the last century, there has been a tremendous surge in the world's population consequently leading to housing shortages. Can public parks help to solve this problem or better still be used for other purposes such as business development and boosting economies? I do not agree completely and this essay will elaborate my stand further. To begin with,public parks which were created for relaxation and recreational purposes has affected our lives positively. The majority of people living in big cities reside in flats with no outdoor space for activities such as exercising, sunbathing and walking, hence, the need for a place to carry out these activities. Furthermore, staying indoors can be very boring especially for children who regularly need an avenue to exert all their energy.The parks provide the space for these activities that are hugely beneficial to our lives. On the other hand, the conversion of parks into houses and businesses is a temporary solution to a long term problem. The number of people in the world today has dramatically increased compared to the last decade with very little chance of declining so the question is how many parks will be converted? Using up this space to create more accommodation would not solve the problem, other ways such as putting policies in place to reduce birth rates as well as using incentives to encourage people to relocate to the countryside are possible solutions. In conclusion, while converting our existing parks into residential areas or businesses may seem like a better use of space and in turn a solution to the shortages created by the ever-growing population, I do not completely agree because public place have their own benefit such as exercising and relaxation, nevertheless, other avenues can be explored to solve the need of housing and business development