some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of the society. others,however, believe that school is the place to learn this . discuss both views and give your opinion .

Over the years, there has been an ongoing debate about who should be responsible for teaching children how to be good citizens. While some people think this responsibility lies on the parent's others believe that schools are the best place. I undoubtedly believe that both parties have a huge part to play and this essay will discuss this in detail. On the one hand, when a child is born, everything he/she learns to do starts at home by copying persons around. This stems from walking to talking and even using polite words like please and thank you, which implies that a toddlers first place of learning is the home and impacting appropriate behaviour and morals should begin from there. For instance, a child who constantly observes his parents throw garbage into the bin would definitely follow in such footsteps, therefore, parents should endeavour to lead by example as this contributes significantly to their children becoming law-abiding citizens. On the other hand, nowadays there has been a tremendous increase in divorce rates around the world affecting children negatively in diverse ways. This usually leaves the parent who has child custody shattered and lonely with little or no time to teach good behaviour and that is where the school comes in. Children who do not have the privilege of learning good morals from home can learn from school as there are subjects specifically designed for that purpose. Additionally, while in school teachers are the careers and that opportunity should be used wisely to improve and instil some discipline in the youngsters. In conclusion, being a good citizen of a country is very important but the question of whose role it is to teach the children to be good members of the community keeps coming up. I believe both parents and the school have their own roles to play equally.