popular events like football world cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in existing international tensions and releasing emotions in a safe way . To what extent do you agree and disagree with with the opinion

Sports play an integral part in any civilised community. Though big sports events are considered as an opportunity to improve relations among countries, they come at a great cost. This essay will discuss in detail why such huge affairs are not everybody’s game. First of all, organising similar occasions burdens the national economy of developing regions. Nevertheless, developing communities take pride while hosting occasions but corruption takes its toll. When commonwealth games were organised in India, they spent exceptionally on opening ceremonies, infrastructure and paid international stars. Later on, commonwealth games came under the radar of their country’s vigilance committee on wrongdoings by government officials in siphoning off public money. Moreover, a society can spend funds on higher education, improving their infrastructure and eradicating poverty. For instance, the African lands of Congo and Sudan have a huge issue famine where basic necessity like food and water is scarce. In addition to the above, sometimes relations between two nations is so worse that their enmity can even get worse. Mostly when two nations play, spectators turn into a wild mob. As if they are fighting a war at that very moment. For example, in the last football world cup, the news was all over the place as the audience started fights on the street after the game was over. Further, the security of players has also been a cause of concern. A few years back, an international cricket match was held in Pakistan, when someone from stands pointed out guns at the players of the opposition. In conclusion, it can be said large sporting events are not meant for every country. They should rather focus on the important things that matter for their development. Besides, there are other means by which tensions and emotions can be released.