In multi-cultural societies, people of different cultural backgrounds live and work together. Do you think the advantages of multi-cultural societies outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, multi-cultural societies are best characterised by people of different cultural backgrounds. In my opinion, the fact that people of diverse cultural backgrounds live and work together brings more advantages than disadvantages. Living and working in a multi-cultural society creates a wide variety of benefits. To start with, people can broaden their horizons by living and working in a multi-cultural environment. Specifically, different cultures generates different viewpoints and ideas, which helps people to better understand the world. Besides, people from different cultural backgrounds contribute to the society in more creative ways. Evidently, countries such as Australia and Canada have more festivals to celebrate because of their multi-cultural nature, which means rich cultures are fostered in these countries. Above all, people from different cultures help the multi-cultural society boost its economy. To be more specific, immigrants as well as their families and friends create a large amount of profit for the tourism industry, which directly generates more revenue for the multi-cultural society. On the other hand, some arguments can be made that multi-cultural societies may have more conflicts. The main reason for this is that people from different backgrounds may not understand each other well. But closer examination would reveal that multi-cultural societies such as Australia and Canada have very low crime rates, as immigrants are carefully selected by governments. It is manifest that multi-cultural societies actually have less to worry about in this respect. Having considered all the arguments above, I would conclude that multi-cultural societies enjoy more benefits overall.