Although countries with long average working hours are economically successful, this often has some negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Despite the fact that nations, where people work for long hours, experience a successful economy, this commonly has some social disadvantages. I strongly agree with this statement as people that work a lot have less time available for being social with friends and family and less time for leisure time in general. To begin, people that work most of the days do not have much time left to spend with their closest ones. They will have little time to catch up with their friends after work or talk about nonsense around the dinner table with their family members. Inevitably, these persons might be stressed and feel guilty for not being able to keep their relations with their loved ones through daily life. For example, young women building careers commonly struggle to spend time with their families. This makes them sad and makes them prone to early burnout. Secondly, when the person is at work many hours of the day, leisure time will be limited. Leisure time is important for people to recover and help people to come back to work with spirit and energy. Thus, lack of time for non- work -related activities might make the employees sad and unhappy which again will affect the social environment at work. They simply do not feel for being social at work, or they might instead contribute to a bad working environment because they are always in a bad mood. To conclude, although, states experience economically success as people work a lot, I strongly support the statement that this has negative social impacts because people have limited time available for being social with friends and family and little time left for leisure activities.