Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Despite knowing about the importance of saving the earth, excessive usage of plastic products has been causing massive environmental pollution. This essay will examine the main destructions caused by plastics and suggest possible solutions to this problem. Initially, plastic was produced with the intention of multi-usage products but it is causing more harm than help. There are two major concerns regarding its effect on environmental health are that it is non-biodegradable and is polluting the earth. Firstly, it is widely known that it takes many years for them to decompose, as a result, it has entered almost all ecosystems. For example, a recent study by experts found traces of plastics in human blood in small amounts. Because of that, we are exposed to chemical toxins from them. Also, due to its inability to,decompose they end up in landfills or pollute water. There were a number of instances where the marine animals were found choking or tangled by the floating plastic product and affecting the marine ecosystem. Thus, it has a detrimental effect on our health and our environment. Furthermore, immediate actions are required to solve this problem, like promoting awareness among people and bringing up legislation by the government. Not only it is an individual responsibility to save our earth but also government intervention is required to ensure effective measures are taken. Public awareness such as workshops, school curriculum could make a difference. Moreover, the government need to ban single-use plastics and make alternatives made from natural fibre affordable. Therefore, regulation against indiscriminate usage of plastic items is strongly recommended. In conclusion, the extensive usage of plastic products in our daily life has become inevitable which has adverse effects on our health and our planet. However, we can significantly lessen the side effects by enlightening people and laws on this problem.