In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

With the rapid urbanization in many nations, whether or not there is a significant effect on development when individuals migrate from the countryside to the city has become a widely debated topic. Many people believe that overcrowding and unequal resource distribution may occur in the city; others maintain that population increments can foster urban development. This essay will delve into factors contributing to this phenomenon, ultimately contending that overcrowding in cities presents a drawback. Among all these, one of the crucial points to consider is that lots of downtown citizens move to center cities, which will lead to overcrowding. All economic activities are concentrated in urban areas; the existing urban population is already substantial, and the influx of additional people exacerbates various challenges. For instance, the heightened population density facilitates the rapid spread of diseases such as COVID-19, as evidenced by the widespread outbreaks in urban areas. Furthermore, the increase in population contributes to intensified pollution issues stemming from increased transportation, enhancing demand for consumables, and leading to greater environmental impact. On the contrary, although the migration of rural residents to the cities may stimulate economic growth, it can also lead to an imbalance in resource distribution. A striking example of declining rural populations is the abandonment of vital facilities, e.g., hospitals, schools, and restaurants, thereby exacerbating the issues faced by urban regions. To conclude, having discussed the disadvantages of influxing populations to urban areas, such as overcrowding and environmental deterioration, as well as the unequal allocation of resources outweighing the benefits of stimulating economic growth through increased productivity, I hold the strong belief that a balanced distribution of people is crucial to social development.