Forests produce fresh oxygen and participate in regulating climate. But every year the tree cover of our planet is lessening due to deforestation. What are the primary causes of deforestation? To what results may it lead?

These days, it is widely believed that forests are an integral part of the Earth, and their function plays as lungs that helps to purify the air. However, deforestation has had a sharp rise recently, which is regarded as a pressing problem. Therefore, several major causes and harmful effects will be addressed in the following paragraphs. To begin with, the single biggest direct cause of tropical deforestation is agricultural expansion. It is undeniable that in several places, farmers convert forestland to cropland and pasture, mostly for subsistence, which is growing crops or raising livestock to meet daily needs. Moreover, infrastructure expansion such as road building and urbanization cause actions of cutting down or burning trees in the area. For example, in a number of places, people destroy primary woodland to build industrial parks, roads, and residential housing to serve people's needs. Since then, several consequences could be taken into consideration. First and foremost, one of the riskiest and unsettling effects of logging is the loss of animal and plant species due to their loss of habitat; as studies have shown that 70% of land animals and plant species live in the jungle. Moreover, further effects of it also include soil erosion and coastal flooding. Trees help the land to retain water and topsoil, which provides the rich nutrients to sustain forest life; consequently, without forests, the soil is eroded and washed away through excessive rains and floods. The barren land which is left behind by these unsustainable agricultural practices is then more susceptible to flooding, especially in coastal regions. In conclusion, I passionately believe that deforestation is one of the biggest challenges humanity faces today and in the future. Therefore, governments should implement legislation associated with protecting woodland, and educate regional communities to restrict this peril.