A hundred years ago, many people thought that the human race was improving in every areas of life. Nowadays people are less certain about this. In what areas has the human race made important process? In what areas do we still need to make progress?

It no doubts that human society has improved significantly during the past hundred years due to the development of technology. Many worldwide long-lasting issues were concurred by human beings. However, there are existing problems such as environmental issues and poverty which need to some extent be solved. To begin with, during the past a hundred years, technology has changed the world completely in every aspect. For example, advanced medication extends our life expectancy almost doubled compared to a hundred years ago; information technology provides a convenient ways of communication. Nonetheless, at the same,time we are facing other problems that could be potential threats. First, we should prevent from keeping damaging the environment, because a large number of devastating loggings and chemical pollutions that came from industrial progress have caused unaccountable damages to our planet. Second, despite the fact that the progress of productivity has not only improved our life quality but it also accelerates the speed of accumulating wealth, which leads to a growing gap between wealthy and poor. As a result, riches are becoming richer and poverty populations are increasing. In many third -world countries, children and women are suffering from starvation and chronic disease due to a lack of financial support. It is the authorities’ responsibility to take action and provide support to them. To sum up, although the human race has already made great progress in many areas, sometimes people should also consider what needs to be improved, such as the environment and poverty populations.