Forests produce fresh oxygen and participate in regulating climate. But every year the tree cover of our planet is lessening due to deforestation. What are the primary causes of deforestation? To what results may it lead?

These days, it is widely believed that forests are an integral part of the Earth since it purifies the air. However, deforestation has had a sharp rise recently, which is regarded as a pressing problem. Therefore, several major causes and harmful effects will be addressed in the following paragraphs. To begin with, the root cause of the above issue is agricultural expansion. There is a fact that small-scale farmers have been converting forest land to cropland and pasture, mostly for subsistence, which is growing crops or raising livestock to meet daily needs. Furthermore, the massive construction of urban infrastructure and residential housing can cause actions of logging and cutting trees in these areas. For example, human beings have destroyed primary woodlands to build industrial parks, widen roads, or extend houses to serve their needs in recent years. Since then, several consequences could be taken into consideration. First and foremost, one of the unsettling effects of deforestation is the loss of plant and animal species due to the loss of their habitats; as studies have shown that 70% of land animals and plant species live in the jungle. Moreover, further impacts also include soil erosion and coastal flooding. Trees help the land to retain water and topsoil, which provides rich nutrients to sustain forest life; consequently, by these unsustainable agricultural practices, erosion will occur more frequently through excessive rains and floods, especially in coastal regions. In conclusion, deforestation is one of the biggest challenges that humanity faces today and in the future. Therefore, governments should implement legislation, policies and procedures associated with protecting woodlands as well as raise people's awareness in terms of its importance.