employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests and whether they married or single, some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Certain job applications require applicants to provide private information including marital status and personal hobbies. Some candidates may agree that this is necessary while others might think otherwise. In my opinion, these personal details are important for employers to arrange job scope and schedule; however, less relevant for applicants that do not associate their work with personal life. Firstly, certain jobs need frequent travellings to different places all around the world, such as flight attendance, head hunter and public relations officer. Therefore, marital status, in this case, is relevant because their working schedule need not depend on their families. Moreover, some employers need to know if they can arrange outstation missions for their staff. Additionally, some companies keep records of their staff's personal interests so that they can allocate specific projects to the right person, to achieve better productivity. On the other hand, some candidates opine that these private details are not relevant for job applications because their working performance is not influenced by them. Many people nowadays separate their work from their personal life distinctly in order to achieve work-life balance. Thus, whether or not they are married, they would not allow compromisation of their personal time for their jobs. Besides, most individuals do not choose their career based on their interests, but depend on more realistic factors such as job stability, salary and promotion. In short, it is acceptable for employers to collect such information from their staff, in terms of facilitating job assignments. Nonetheless, the reasons behind obtaining that information should be explained to the employees to avoid misunderstanding and promote trust between the company and their workers.