The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

Nowadays, since the English language plays a vital role in tourism, individuals are more attitude towards that. Consequently, a group of people present the view that it would be utilized as a common language by the human being in the future. While there are some drawbacks associated with that issue, I believe its main benefits are more substantial. On the one hand, a potential disadvantage of using one language globally is that some people who have not been taught English from an early age find it difficult to learn it. Thus, they have to spend a sizable amount of time on learning the English language and it would be frustrating. Another perceived downside is that it causes people would be taken away from their native languages that lead to some adverse effects on being more familiar with their culture. Since one of the most important issues that make people travel to other countries is their culture, it would have some negative effects on the tourism industry in the long term. On the other hand, a primary advantage of regarding English as a common language around the world would be its educational positive effects. For example, since scientists share their achievements with English, students would be able to boost their knowledge quickly, if be familiar with that. Consequently, all authoritative universities find it essential for their student to have IELS or TOFLE certification. A further reason is that language is a decisive factor in trading. From an economic viewpoint, people should be able to contact each other to sell or purchase products. To conclude, it is true that the widespread use of the English language seems disadvantageous in certain circumstances. However, I believe its positive effects in terms of economic and educational benefits override the disadvantages.