Farming is the backbone of every country but nowadays many youngsters hesitate to enter in this profession. Why is this the case and what can be done to avoid it

Despite the fundamental importance of agriculture all around the world, the young are mostly reluctant to pursue this field in their professional life. Two causative factors can be mentioned for this declining tendency among the youth and the onus is on officials to create the necessary driving force. As for the reasons why young individuals persistently shun crop husbandry, two could be mentioned. To begin with, recent environmental crises and the irreversible damage caused by major climate change have taken a serious toll on farming conditions, inflicting irreparable harm to vast areas of previously arable land. Take water scarcity for example; the most critical element indispensable to any type of cultivation, water resources are severely depleted in countless regions worldwide. The situation is compounded by falling rates of precipitation which could be a nightmare for any agricultural business. Another demotivating factor is the astronomical prices of agricultural machinery. Unable to afford the equipment on their own and fearing the bleak prospect of an unprofitable business, the young choose to abstain from farming. That being said, government authorities are expected to take a number of viable measures in order to encourage more and more people to gravitate toward agriculture as a profession. Firstly, what can prove effective and encouraging would be a government initiative that allows agricultural entrepreneurs to apply for low-interest loans. This money could be spent on purchasing the required tools including tractors and irrigation equipment. More specifically, if young people are assured of the financial requirements of setting up an agricultural business, they will be more inclined to take the risk. What is more, investing in cutting-edge methods of water supply could ensure prospective farmers that water paucity will not be an imminent threat to their flourishing business. Water desalination, to give an example, has proved quite efficient so far. To conclude, although fewer youths tend to opt for farming, some actions can be taken to rectify the situation. Providing financial incentives in form of loans and maintaining water provision is among the most doable which might help young people overcome their fears of failure in this field.