Nowadays in many countries traditional customs are becoming less popular than in the past. Do you agree or disagree? What can parents and teachers do about this?

Most countries around the world follow their own unique culture and traditions inherited for generations. In recent years, however, these age-old customs are slowly losing their popularity. In my opinion, it is the duty of both parents and teachers to educate the younger generation about the importance of preserving these practices. I believe that ancient rituals which were practised religiously by our ancestors are fading away. One of the major reasons could possibly be a hectic work schedule in today’s fast-paced life. People who are occupied most of the time in balancing their work and family find it difficult to follow certain rituals and therefore, either perform them occasionally or just completely ignore them. In Indian culture, for instance, it is considered auspicious to visit a temple and seek blessings, but the number of believers visiting these holy places are reducing drastically. Consequently, children who generally follow the footsteps of their caregivers fail to understand the traditional importance in their lives and may not find it necessary to continue them. As young children spend most of the time at school and home, it is, therefore, the responsibility of both parents and teachers to guide them in this matter. Schools could include common practices which are followed by all sections of the society in their curriculum. Teachers should make an effort to gather the history and significance of these customs. Conducting quizzes or drama competitions around the importance of traditions for instance could be effective in grabbing more attention from students. These minute details could be interesting for students and possibly encourage them to follow for years. On the other hand, parents should try their best to prevent these traditions from diminishing. Despite their busy schedules, one should find some time to perform and teach their younger ones about various practices their families have been following for years. Younger generations who grow up watching and learning from their elders would happily continue their legacy forward. In conclusion, it seems that traditional customs are slowly dying in most countries. Future generations should be educated both in educational institutes and homes to prevent them from fading.