Some people think governments should spend money on faster means of public transport. However, others think money should be spent on other priorities (e.g. cost, environment). Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, our planet is in danger of environmental deterioration due to rapidly developed technologies. There is currently a contentious argument whether the national budget should be spent more on public transportation which runs faster or the other area such as the protection of the environment should be prioritised. I have a notion that authorities should allocate more money to preserve nature as this is a global issue and threatens our future. First of all, saving the time of daily commute or business trips can be beneficial mainly for businesses. If the time to commute is reduced, people can utilise that spare time for their work, which will increase their productivity. Furthermore faster transportation makes people more accessible to other cities, which will, in turn, flourish tourism industries. Consequently, the economy of the countries that have excellent public transportation would surge. On the other hand, it is undoubted that we are facing serious environmental issues and these should be tackled as soon as possible regardless of other problems. Without healthy environments, humans are not capable of living and our future will be detrimental. To prevent this from happening, governments can provide subsidies for the consumers who purchase eco-friendly products so that they can be encouraged to do so more. To illustrate, when people introduce solar panels in their houses, the items should be discounted by authorities. In conclusion, although the development of public transportation largely contributes to our economy, we cannot live in a harsh environment and thus, protecting the environment would be the first priority of what the leaders should do.