Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

After graduating from school, students have a dilemma, which is whether they should pursue higher education or look for a job in order to have successful career life. While two of these career paths have many advantages, I believe that getting academic qualifications before going to work is the best. On the one hand, studying in universities brings us various benefits, that many choose to have a better career. Firstly, it gives students great opportunities to gain academic knowledge, which is the basis for career development. The courses and curriculums at university teach students the basic knowledge and therefore they gain a deeper insight into the fields they major in. This knowledge would play a vital role in helping students do their jobs better at the workplace. Secondly, students graduating from university would be officially qualified by academic organization institutes, thus, they would have more chances to get high-paying and position jobs than those who do not have university degrees. It is common that companies would consider candidates background knowledge as their top priority when hiring employees. On the other hand, students gain a variety of benefits when having a job instead of pursuing an academic path. The first benefit is they would have more time to improve their practical skills, which are crucial for their jobs, they spend at least 4 years more than their peers, training and learn from their colleagues, work environment and their own experience. That would give them a higher chance to succeed in their career. A salesperson would have much more time to concentrate fully on building up relationships with customers and improve social skills, for example, rather than wasting four years at university to learn too many irrelevant courses. The second benefit is they will be likely independent and able to overcome difficulties better than the other groups. Students starting their jobs earlier have to deal with many problems, for example, covering their expenses, earning a living, without supports from families, coping with stress at work. By means of these experiences, they become more mature and will-experienced, which is also primary for their success at the workplace. In conclusion, individuals have their own decisions when choosing a career path, whether having a job earlier or gaining qualifications in the academic world, in my opinion, the former has more positive aspects.