Education for young people is important in many countries. However, some people think that the government should spend more money on education in adult populations who cannot read and write. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some believe in educating young people while others argue that policy makers should invest more in teaching adults who are unable to read and write. Even though it is necessary for adult population to be literate, I do not believe that spending more to educate them is a good move. Putting more resources to educate middle-aged adults might be a wasted effort. Adults, who are illiterate, have their own commitments. They might not have the time and energy to learn the basic education. For example, they get up early and work throughout the day. Generally, they are blue-collar workers, and their work demands high physical labour. By the time their work ends, they simply would want to go home, have a warm family dinner and head to bed to re-charge for the next day. If they are unwilling to commit, investment in teaching them could go to waste. Additionally, it will be difficult to persuade them to learn how to read and write at their age. They might find going to the night classes embarrassing. I have a neighbour who is in her fifties but did not receive education during her younger years. I read her the headings in the daily newspapers every evening after work. I have ever asked her if she would like to learn how to read for half an hour every day, but she does not wish to, since she is shameful to start reciting alphabets at her age. All in all, since it will be difficult to get most of the adult population to start learning and commit throughout the journey, I believe that governments should not invest more than the current limit to educate them.