Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

After graduating from school, young people face the dilemma of whether they should pursue higher education or look for a job in order to have a successful career life. While two of these career paths have many advantages, I believe that getting academic qualifications before going to work is a better choice. On the one hand, studying in universities brings us various benefits, that many choose to have a better career. Firstly, it gives teenagers great opportunities to gain academic knowledge, which is the basis for career development. The curriculums at university usually teach students basic knowledge and therefore they would gain a deeper insight into the fields they major in. This knowledge would play a vital role in helping them do their jobs better at the workplace. Secondly, university graduates would be officially qualified by academic organization institutes, thus, they would have more chances to get high-paying and position jobs than those who do not have university degrees. Because it is common that companies would consider candidates' background knowledge as their top priorities when hiring employees. On the other hand, students gain a variety of benefits when having a job instead of pursuing an academic path. The first benefit is they would have more time to improve their practical skills, which are crucial for their jobs. More specifically, they spend at least four years more than their peers receiving training at the workplace and learning from their colleagues, work environment and their own experience. That would give them a higher chance to succeed in their careers. A salesperson would have much more time to concentrate fully on building up relationships with customers and improving social skills, for example, rather than wasting four years at university learning too many irrelevant courses. The second benefit is they can be likely independent and able to overcome challenging obstacles better than the other peer groups. Students starting their jobs earlier have to deal with many problems, for instance, covering their expenses, earning a living without supports from families, or coping with stress at work. By means of these experiences, they become more mature and well-experienced, which is also prominent for their success at the workplace. In conclusion, individuals make their own decisions when choosing career paths, whether having a job earlier or gaining qualifications in the academic world, in my opinion, the former has more positive aspects.