In some, countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university. Discuss advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this

In many countries, to develop a sense of independence, children are being motivated to spend a year working or travelling before commencing their professional studies. While there are several positives and negative sides of this approach which will be discussed below. On the one hand, the main advantage of working after completing high school is that it develops a sense of stability in youngsters. Also, they become financially independent when starting earning, consequently, they will learn to manage their finances and ability to pay their academic fees later on. Furthermore, if children travel to other countries they will be able to learn new culture and get familiar with a multicultural environment, as this will help them in a professional institution where they will meet people of different nationalities. For example, In Germany, children learn different languages to mix up with their friends and feel comfortable during studies. On the contrary, there are several drawbacks and the main downside is that children enjoy perks of financial independence, as a result, they change their minds and discontinue their plan of further studies. Additionally, after completing their high school kids minds are more competent and ready to accept challenges thrown by higher studies; whereas a gap during their studies can demotivate and they will find their interest in different leisure activities. As seen in the US, 80% of youth do part-time jobs after completing school and never return to universities to complete their higher education. To sum up, I agree that children should get offered some activities other than studies; however, a long gap between studies may divert their focus from their main goal. Parents should keep a strict check on their children if allowing them to work or travel, as well as keep reminding them about the importance of professional studies.