What are the advantages and disadvantages if getting old

As people are getting older, they may acquire some benefits and face many problems. This essay will discuss some positive aspects of being an elderly person such as having much knowledge acquired from their living time and freedom from working and some drawbacks of that including health issues and difficulty in communication. On the one hand, getting older allows people to have some benefits. Firstly, over the course of their living, a person can acquire many experiences of life, so they can share that with younger people. Consequently, they receive respect from the younger generation. Secondly, as the majority of people spend much of their adulthood working, they save enough money to no longer need to be employed at the age of retirement. Thus, an old person only needs to focus on their well-being without the worry of a financial burden. For example, in Japan, many young people invest their money in stocks, shares, and other financial assets using their salary; for this reason, these investments will create a passive income that pays for the period of their retirement. On the other hand, an old person has to face some negativities. First of all, while they might have money to pay for their well-being, an ageing body can bring many diseases, including diabetes and cancers that decrease their life expectancy. Next, due to a generation gap, they will have a hard time sharing ideas and values with other younger people. As a result, miss understanding might grow between family's members that bring sadness to an elder that can impact their well-being. For instance, old people in the U.S are usually living apart from their children since they can not share the same view about life; eventually, most of them have to die alone. In conclusion, getting older give old people respects from the younger generation and the freedom of retirement; however, it brings problems to their health and communication issues among family members.