With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages this trend?

Paper books are dwindling as e- books become more popular. Some consider this is a positive development, while others think the opposite. E- books are more portable and cost-effective, however, there are also drawbacks to be taken into account. To begin with, one of the advantages of digital books is their portability. Thanks to this innovation of modern technology, people can easily read e- books whenever and wherever they want, for example, on the bus or subway, and long distances can help to save time instead of preventing us from reading. In addition, universities have their own electronic libraries, which students can use to prepare for classes anywhere. Second, another beneficial feature of digital books is that they are more accessible. Even if they are not available in libraries or retailers, many books are easily downloaded from the Internet, either for free or for a fee. It is also a good solution to ensure that people in regions without bookstores and postal services are not deprived of reading. On the other hand, what readers can not find in e- books is the emotional connection they have with the book. Some bookworms have an insatiable desire to feel and touch the pages of their paper books. The feel of a paper book, its weight and its smell are parts of the enjoyment of reading. For readers who have a romantic connection to the books they read, the presence of books on the bookshelves constantly reminds them of something about their intellectual journeys. Actually, another drawback is that when we use e- books, our vision may be impaired. Constant exposure of the eyes to strong blue light while reading an e-book can cause serious damage. Specifically, reading electronic books at a young age is extremely hazardous to the readers ' eyes in the future. To sum up, e- books are an advantageous technological advancement, but they are not without drawbacks. In other words, while replacing paper books with e- books can bring about some benefits, it may also be harmful to the readers ' vision and at the same time, readers cannot easily build an emotional bond with an e-book.