Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

It is suggested that the government is wasting money on the arts and could allocate the budget more effectively in other sectors. I partially agree with this view, claiming that art is important because investments in the arts reflect civilisation; however, other aspects of life should not be overlooked as well. The arts play a pivotal role in society ’s cultural life as they reflect the community’s level of development. Artworks are considered cultural heritage and they reflect national identity. The more interested society is in the arts, the higher its living standards tend to be. In other words, a well-developed society values art as a form of self-expression. For instance, the Louvre Museum attracts hundreds of visitors daily, highlighting how both local and foreign individuals are interested in culture. Despite the fact that art is important, countries should not underestimate other aspects of life, as they have a more significant impact on overall wellbeing in society. Education, health, the environment, and many other sectors can affect public life in a more beneficial way compared to investments in the arts. That is to say, there should be a balance based on the needs of society when allocating financial resources. A good example is Finland, whose top two national priorities are health and education. Finland does not neglect the arts; nevertheless, it is not a priority area for funding. To conclude, although some people think that investments in the arts by the government are a waste of money, I do not fully support this idea as the arts are important for society ’s cultural life, though countries should invest more in other vital sectors.