Many people believe that modern music can have a negative impact on the young. Others believe the effect of modern music is positive. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Music suffered changes over the years and it´s been questioned if it has a negative or positive impact on the young. Actually music reflects the society we live in, a world controlled by technology that also had a big impact on what we call now “modern music ”. The older generations who grew up listening to classic music, jazz or rock have difficulties to understand the musical choices nowadays. Some call it “noise” and think that it has a negative impact on the young. Maybe due to the violence of some lyrics or the lack or quality of the content. In addition to this, techno music born from the advances of technology can also be controversial. Why is that? Young people spend many hours per day listening to house music or techno music which rhythms can create heart problems. Despite this condition, electronic music can also be seen as artificial music comparing to the olds generations songs. Nonetheless, others believe that the effect of modern music can be positive. Modern music is developed and stablished by the new generations for the new generations which leads some to think that it has a good impact on the young. Tastes are changing and the young minds are evolving with them even if not everyone agrees. In my opinion, from the perspective of someone who belongs to the new generation and lives in person the impact of modern music I believe that we need to be open to it. Listening to modern music doesn’t abrogate the past music styles, on the contrary, it allow us to form our musical culture and be able to adapt ourselves in several environments and types of personalities. To summarize, modern music can have a positive and a negative impact depending on how the young people use it. For some it can be relaxing and for other it could bring violent attitudes or health problems but, as a rule, we can´t apply the same impact to all young people that listen to modern music.