In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smart phones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Nowadays jobs are changing due to technological advances that brings new methods of working. With the use of computers, internet and smarts phones, people are no longer forced to travel to their place of work because they can do most of their tasks from their homes. That brings us to a controversial situation, what are the advantages and disadvantages of this new way of living? Undoubtedly the biggest advantage is the new opportunities by being able to apply for jobs not only locally but globally. Workers have now more flexibility in their working lives. It can be particularly useful for parents or people who live far from their workplace. Working from home is also more comfortable - you can take a break whenever you need. Another advantage is that you have the possibility to work for companies in other countries through the use of the internet. On the other hand, working from home can also have its disadvantages. Travelling to work and working in an office with others can be a very sociable activity which many people enjoy, especially if they live on their own. Without this social interaction many people might feel very lonely. Furthermore, many people may lack sufficient discipline to complete the work they need to do without colleagues around. In conclusion, therefore, there are clearly advantages and disadvantages to working from home. Perhaps the ideal arrangement would be to spend part of the working week in an office with colleagues, and part of the working week at home, with a certain amount of flexibility and comfort.