The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education or shopping. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, there has been an assumption that only by increasing the number of people staying home for study, work, or even purchasing goods will city transportation be improved. From my own perspective, I partly agree with this opinion. This essay will elaborate more on the reasons for the incomplete agreement. On the one hand, it is true that the fewer vehicles participating in traffic, the clearer the roads will be, especially during rush hours. In fact, when compared with the past, modern technology has made it possible for individuals to work and learn from a distance. They can even order merchandise without any difficulties. For instance, with an electrical device or equipment connected to the internet, a student can attend online classes easily and an employee can take part in a meeting with other colleagues. This means that they can accomplish their a ssigments conveniently without moving to another place. Therefore, when their basic needs are ensured, it is possible that the times they leave home might be limited. However, a decrease in the need to go out is not t he solely effective approach. Besides the mentioned measurement, enhancing the public transport system for citizens is also an appropriate method to be considered. When a majority of users are satisfied with the provided service, they might be inclined to travel by public transports. For example, punctuality and comfort appear to be taken into consideration during every trip. If trains or buses leave in time, workers will not be punished for being late. Hence, when such demands are met, mass transit may become more popular and preferred by the community. In conclusion, in order to achieve the goal of traffic improvement, there could be other approaches instead of just persuading people to stay home. Satisfying users with the public service, in my opinion, is a better option for the decline in the number of vehicles running on roads.