Using smartphone is harmful for the eye. How far do you agree ?

The increasing use of mobile devices has caused severe health concerns among the current generation. Although these devices play a role in communication, education and connectedness, some people believe that mobile phones are toxic to the eyes. I absolutely agree that using smartphones for longer periods could cause issues related to the eyes. Due to the rapid rise in technology, it is possible to do most of our work on smartphones including entertainment, work and study. People are continuously exposed to their screens which emit bright blue light while working on their phones to send messages, scroll through social media or attend online classes, for instance, causing eye strains to the users. Researches have shown that these low wavelength light emitted from the small screens could be dangerous to the retina especially at night when there is not sufficient brightness in the surroundings. Smartphone users, therefore, should be cautious and use their devices with minimal brightness and contrast. Another related cause of concern is the users who look into their mobile screens for a prolonged time without blinking. People who are very much focused on their work sometimes unconsciously forget to blink leading to dry eyes. While playing online games, for instance, gamers keep their eyes wide open for a longer period of time so that they do not lose points. The prolonged effect, however, is known to be one of the major reasons for reduced eyesight. Thus, it is vital to be conscious of the health damages that are caused due to continuous exposure to these gadgets. In conclusion, it seems that using smartphones could lead to the problem of damaged eyes due to the emission of blue light causing strained eyes as well as high exposure to screens leading to loss of moisture. Owners of these gadgets should be aware of the harmful consequences and take appropriate measures to reduce the negative effect.