Research has shown that the transportation of products and people are the main source of pollution. Some people believe the Government should be in charge of this, while others believe it is the fault of individuals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Goods transportation and human activities have been proved to be the main culprits behind pollution, one of the most concerning problems in recent years. However, it is still a matter of debate as to whether the government or individuals are the o ne to blame for this problem. In my opinion, authorities should take t he g reater responsibility for doing harm to the environment. On the one hand, each individual should be the one in charge of activities that have adverse impacts on the environment. Though being encouraged to make green habits in order to enhance the environmental quality, not many people are willing to adopt them. For instance, the number of private vehicles, which are the main source of exhaust emissions, would remarkably drop if more people chose to use public transports. Consequently, this will minimize the negative effects on the environment thanks to the reduced amounts of toxic pollutants. However, there is still a large proportion of people opting for private vehicles due to their convenience, showing no environmental awareness. Those people, for that reason, should be in charge of magnifying the detrimental impacts of pollution. On the other hand, it is clear that the government plays no lesser role in making the situation worse. It has been demonstrated that pollution is attributed to the inefficient transportation of products, which is under the control of the authorities. Had they had a better regulation on product transportation flow, the carbon footprint produced from this activity could be dramatically reduced, which partly mitigates the severity of air pollution. In addition to this, it is the government w ho has the power to impose the restrictions on environmentally unfriendly activities and e nsures citizens follow them. Therefore, authorities without the ability to devise a n efficient traffic schemes should undeniably take the responsibility for social activities causing serious environmental issues. In conclusion, harmful activities that destroy the environment belong to both the government and individuals from my perspective of view. However, the authorities with their inefficient management are the o ne making m ore substantial contribution to the poor situation of pollution.