In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In many places around the world, a large number of people believe that huge amounts of funds should be spent to construct high-speed railway lines between cities. However, there are others who believe that using this fund to upgrade existing public transportation systems is a better idea. This essay will look at both sides and then attempt to reach a conclusion. To begin with, it is clear that fast trains would make travelling between cities much easier. In fact, it can be faster than travelling by plane because you do not have to wait so long at the airport. Moreover, train travel is generally cheaper than travelling by train, which will allow more people to travel than before. Nevertheless, the cost of constructing a long-distance train system is very high and this capital could be used in a more effective way. This leads to the idea of using the fund to improve current public transport. For instance, although public transportation is seen as environmentally friendly, many old buses produce a lot of smoke, and this could be solved by spending funds on electric buses that do not produce harmful emissions. Furthermore, current public transport is what people use every day, so it makes sense to improve this rather than build a new structure that might not be used so much. Overall, a high-speed rail system is a great way to connect a country and even a group of countries. However, if funding is an issue, it is better to improve the current system to a high standard before taking on a new plan.