Many people are opting to buy second handed products instead of new ones. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development?

Other than a traditional way of buying new things, the latest trend is to buy and sell pre-loved items. While purchasing second -handed items save us money, we are also saving the environment by reusing the items that are still in good condition. Buying pre-loved items do not make a hole in our wallets. We could not only get what we want in a good and usable condition, but also get it at a much affordable price since they are not brand new goods. Recently, I came across a thrift store and found a handbag that I have been searching for a long time. It is no longer available in the retail shops as the overseas manufacturer does not produce the same design anymore. I bought that pre-loved bag at half the original price. Choosing to reuse whenever possible is a great move towards the greener earth. It eliminates the need to burn unwanted items which contribute to global warming. For example, we have seen huge piles of trash in the documentary which are made of litter as well as unwanted items. If we could reuse those clothing and items that are still in good condition, we could decrease the size of trash piles, which, in turn, will reduce the amount of CO2 produced by the burn. To sum up, opting to use second -handed products allow us to buy things we want at a much cheaper price. Moreover, this move could slow down the rate of global warming without us putting effort into it. For these reasons, it is definitely a positive development.