Many people think modern communication technology is having some negative effects on social relationships. Do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, we are living in a world where digital communication technology has an impact on human's life. Some people considered that technology may bring detrimental impacts to social bonds with each other. In my opinion, I partly disagree with this view because online meetings may have some benefits. On the one hand, undoubtedly, technological development in communication enhances social association a lot. It is because online communication helps people to connect across borders without the need of travelling. For example, people can use digital platforms such as Skype, Facebook or Facetime to interact with their families or relatives who live far from them by only smart devices and wifi connections. This convenient way helps them to maintain their relationships when they do not have conditions to gather or meet their relatives, especially in the lockdown or the social distancing of the Covid-19 pandemic. On the other hand, the digital connections made people socially inactive these days compared to the past. This situation happened because humans are over-reliance on the convenience of online communication and social networks. For example, instead of hanging out or having face-to-face meetings with friends like in the past, children nowadays spend most of their time chatting and watching channels. As a result, their attention to do physical activities are much more leser, which leads to obesity, laziness, stress due to their sedentary lifestyle. In conclusion, I believe modern communication are helping to make certain situations better even though there are some drawbacks. Therefore, it is the responsibility of each individual to adjust and balance their reliance on modern communication technology.