Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people,however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Economic growth has become one of the most significant indicators of a country's improvement and prosperity. Subsequently, many political leaders follow this concept, while some of the nations believe that other areas of development should be of the same priority. As for me, I see rationality behind each of the given views, and in this essay, I will discuss both of them and give my perspective. Firstly,hardly can we argue that economic breakthrough is one of the most essential indexes of well-being nowadays.Modern history knows a lot of examples when top brasses of some countries underestimated its importance, and such a miscalculation did not end up well for them. In this regard, Georgia is an interesting case to consider. After the split of the USSR, this country was one of the poorest and least developed in the whole post-soviet union region. However, the situation drastically changed when the new government created a pack of effective economic reforms. Within just 5 years Georgia changed beyond recognition, and the term “Georgian economic miracle” has become widely discussed all over the world. This clearly shows what influence the economy may have on a certain society. On the flip side, it is obvious that there are some other areas of improvement which may be also vital for the overall progress of the country. According to this view, world governments quite often forget about other elements of social advancement. Doubtlessly, society highly appreciates education, art, sports, healthcare, and developed infrastructure as irreplaceable elements of social well-being.But the thing is that economic growth inevitably leads to the development of all the mentioned above spheres. So, in my opinion, it is not a matter of choice: either a strong economy or other areas of growth. Such countries as Switzerland, Norway, Sweden have both developed economies and high standards of all the spheres of social life. Thus, these are codependent elements of any national prosperity. They do not collide, but supplement each other. To draw the conclusion, society has two opposite approaches to progress. While some people support the prevalence of economic development over anything else, the others assume that the progress consists of other evenly important elements. But as practice shows, both economies may successfully contribute to the overall progress of the country, and such an idea seems convincing to me.