Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed schools. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some argue that educating boys and girls in separate schools is better, while others suggest that attending the same school is more beneficial for male and female students. Although educating boys and girls in two different universities ensures a focused learning environment, I believe that sending them to the same school nurtures collaboration, which is a more useful skill. On the one hand, sending male and female children to two different schools ensures that a more personalized way of education is provided to them. For example, male students, typically, have a high tolerance of punishment, which can be used to educate them on appropriate behaviour. Whereas, female students require a more emotional approach for learning basic morals and principles. However, I believe that such a setup does not focus on the children’s overall development. On the other hand, allowing boys and girls to study together in the same university helps them to collaborate more with each other. Often, people need to interact with the opposite sex in their adult lives, whether in a professional or a personal setting, thereby requiring a strong foundation of communication in childhood. This can only be facilitated if more boys and girls choose to study together in the same school. For instance, it is found that mixed-school students have better people skills and have the ability to work in a group compared to those who went to one-gender-only schools. Therefore, in my opinion, mixed education centres provide students with better overall development. In conclusion, even though boys and girls, studying in separate schools, undergo a personalized method of learning, studying in mixed schools will equip these students with skills like collaboration, which is more beneficial for an adult life.