Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, advertising has been heavily employed to increase market share when competition among companies is more intense than ever. However, while some feel that advertisements are now so commonplace that customers are not affected by them anymore, I agree with those who believe that advertising today is even more powerful than in the past. On the one hand, it could be argued that advertisements tend to be powerless It is because of a common belief among many customers that commercials seldom convey the truth about the products. For example, there is an online shop named "Xiaozclothes", which is received a lot of negative feedbacks and ratings one out of five stars, because the products they sell to customers do not have the same colour or quality as it is presented in the advertising images. As a result, there is a large number of individuals have developed negative attitudes towards advertising. On the other hand, I side with those people who still believe that advertisements are still effective. It is because some large companies have hired celebrities to endorse their products, so as to appeal to customers who are fans of those famous people. For instance, Gentle Monster, a luxury brand that sells fashion glasses, invited Jennie Kim, a famous Korean idol to collab and promote their products. As a result, a glasses collection promoted by Jennie was sold out after a few hours. In addition, celebrities always check the quality of the products before making a decision to co-operation, so customers may believe in the advertising of those famous people. To conclude, although ordinary citizens are likely to have a more unfavourable perspective towards advertising, advertisers still manage to find potential buyers thanks to the massive data they have. Therefore, on balance, I believe that the power of advertising is even stronger than in the past.