For many young people today, shopping is their favourite free time activity. Why do you think this has happened? Should young people be encouraged to do different activities in their free time? Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Currently, shopping is becoming one of the most favoured activities among youth. This essay will discuss the main causes of this phenomenon and provide a possible solution to change this tendency. Firstly, advertisements from different social media sources encourage people to do shopping more frequently than is needed. The second reason is the mode, which contributes from followers to change their clothes not due to they have become old, but for the reason that the mode has been changing. As a result, plenty of unnecessary items are bought every day. Furthermore, individuals instead spend their time more useful, prefer to do shopping, this provides producing plenty of unneeded things every year, which, finally, pollutes the planet. The volume of this pollution is shown in the next example. During lockdowns, humans had to stay at home, so unneeded purchases were not done. As a result, the mode industry had reduced their production to 65%. This percentage clearly shows the aggregate number of unnecessary items, which are bought every year. So that, gaining popularity of shopping is becoming a problem which demands to be solved. It is well-known fact, that shopping is not a healthy activity. Due to this fact, individuals, and especially young people, must be encouraged to do sport or take the knowledge. In this stage, social media sources should be used widely. If intelligence and sport became popular, people would change their focus. For instance, situational comedy “The Big Bang Theory” had contributed popularization of physical science through the mass. Should be pointed out that, even if doing sport and receiving knowledge are time-consuming activities, a popularization process would increase interest to them among individuals. In conclusion, as a current tendency shows, the increasing popularity of shopping could have negative consequences for people development, like waste time and resources. Due to this, individuals, especially youth should be encouraged to lift the focus of their activities to more useful areas.