Some movies are serious, designed to make the audience think. Other movies are designed primarily to amuse and entertain. Which type of movie do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Undeniably, movies as a way of entertainment gain popularity. As Netflix is taking off, watching movies has become a part of our lives. There are many different genres of films we can select. I prefer foreign movies and depend on my purpose which might be language learning or only for entertainment. The movie is one of the materials for language learning. It must interest people, otherwise they won’t finish the movie if it bores them. For instance, many language teachers would play movies during the class and help their students learn some language from them. “Forest Gump” is a movie I watched during class. I did not only learn English from this movie, but it also inspired me a lot. This one is designed for entertainment. It might not be like documentaries designed to make the audience think, but they can still inspire people and make them think. Some entertaining movies might inspire people in different ways. People might choose this kind of movie for fun or relax but sometime after finished movie people can be inspired by the meaning behind the movie. For example, “Legally blond” is my favourite movie which I watched thousands of times. For some people it might be a comedy, personally, it is a mental health healing movie. Especially, the graduation speech from Elle is the most important part of this movie. Sometimes when I feel really stressed or frustrated, I will watch this movie again, and try to get some passion back in my life. Overall, serious movies might have a good effect on education but entertaining movies can also have some influence.