Nowadays, a lot of offices have open-space design instead of separate rooms. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, it has become increasingly popular for offices to opt for an open-space design rather than having different rooms. In my opinion, it cannot be categorically said that a style has an advantage over the other because both styles have equal pros and cons which this essay will discuss in detail. The choice of office plan solely lies in the type of activities carried out there. On the one hand, an important merit of an open design is that it encourages free communication. Most people find the workplace a space for interaction and to foster a good relationship, having a neighbour who can be easily seen and heard makes it easier to interact, ask questions and get instant replies as well as eliminates the need to walk to another part of the office to speak to someone. Additionally, it also allows the managers to monitor the activities of the staff. During work hours,some individuals spend enormous time on irrelevant activities such as texting, watching movies and surfing the internet, hence,not meeting the required expectation. The open-plan type of arrangement serves as a deterrent to employees engaging in frivolous activities because they are aware of being watched constantly. On the other hand, having separate rooms provides privacy,unlike the alternative. Individual office spaces create a less distracting environment because when there are several people in a place it becomes easy to lose focus. For example, in a hall full of different people engaging in different things such as conducting meetings, printing and shuffling of the feet, it may eventually become impossible to concentrate, thereby, resulting in decreased productivity, hence, individual workspace is a more feasible option. In summary, in recent times,company owners are choosing to build open offices rather than the conventional individual space, while this has some pros such as easy communication, it also has cons like increased distraction and based on these I believe that one is not better than the other. The choice of design depends on what one wants to achieve.