Many criminals reoffend after they have been punished. Why do some people continue to commit crimes after they have been punished? What measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

It is true that although offenders have once been convicted of criminal behaviour, they might keep committing crimes. There are two major challenges that newly released prisoners have to deal with: finding employment and family strain; therefore, being unable to handle it may lead to reoffending. Society and government should join hands to address this issue. To begin with, the primary problem of a habitual offender is getting a job. The shortage of skills and knowledge may have some negative impacts on their job opportunities. When serving prison times, prisoners do not have much access to vocational training, education and proper preparation; therefore, it may be challenging to find jobs and earn their living. As a consequence, released criminals may have no choice but to commit misdeeds again. Another difficulty they are likely to face is rebuilding family relationships. The criminal background acts as a distance between offenders and their family members. It is hard to accept someone who had been charged of wrongful bahaviours, for their fear of crime and the unsafe feeling when communicating with them. Some measures could be adopted to eliminate this situation. First of all, incorporating education into incarceration is of the utmost importance. Classes such as crafting, sewing, cooking may be useful means in helping prisoners to get a freelance job which does not require a good CV or background. Besides, psychological counseling and prison officer should give their families a deep understanding of the necessity to not alienate them and to try to connect back to them. By doing this, the criminals, in turn, may get[g] a positive outlook and mindset, this can establish a concrete foundation for their future. In conclusion, when it comes to reoffending, there are numerous causes including unemployment and family distance. However, I believe the aforementioned solutions could contribute to tackling the issue