We can get knowledge from news, but some people think we cannot trust journalists. What do you think? What qualities do you think a successful journalist should have?

There are controversial perspectives heating a debate over journalists ’ characteristics. Some hold a strong view that we can acknowledge news, however, we should not believe journalists. I would consider myself an opponent of this idea and in this essay, I will show some core virtues that a journalist should have. It is ungrounded to be intensely skeptical of journalists. Given the fact that the reporters’ task is disclosing the fact without introducing any bias. Therefore, objectivity is regarded as a mandatory factor that every journalist does have. BBC can be cited as a compelling example of this statement. This official news channel is strictly censored by the American government with a view to helping readers approach verified news. As a result, it has no evidence to deduce that all journalists are untrustworthy. In terms of the inner trait of journalists, which plays a vital role in moving up on their career ladder, I am certain that they have to be well-informed of many social aspects. In specific, if they broaden their horizon to know more about different cultures, races, social groups or ameliorate their language skills, they will act as successful communicators and information senders, which create reputation and help them draw audiences’ attention. Moreover, the journalists must keep in charge of everythings they write down so it is more beneficial for them to use careful judgment when reporting information. To sum up, it is unreasonable to claim that the journalists are unreliable. Personally, I have a consensus that a respectable journalist should not jump to conclusions recklessly and have a thorough understanding of the society.