Some young people are leaving the countryside to live in cities and towns, leaving only old people in the countryside. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, it is becoming a trend that young people would like to go to an urban area to live and work, and leaving old people in the countryside because there are more job opportunities and entertainment in the city. I firmly believe that young people relocate to cities which is a more positive development. The reasons are shown in the forthcoming paragraph. There are some positive development if young people move to the city. firstly, living in a new city that is far away from home, which can improve young people independent capacity and develop money management. For example, young people have to look for a place to live and find a job by themselves, instead of staying with parents’ house and asking for a job from their parents. Furthermore, young people have more chances to meet new friends in the city and broaden their horizons. For example, generally speaking, when young people meet the difficulty related to life, job, and money, parents cannot show up or help them as soon as possible, friends always provide a shoulder to help you, whatever in the mental or physical aspect. Moreover, there are more entertainments in the city such as facilities, clubs, pubs. They can go there after work to get mental release. However, there are some disadvantages that leaving old people in the countryside. Firstly, The loneliness of old people will increase, which may cause mental problems. In addition, Some old people cannot take care of themselves, therefore young people have to send them to aged care and visit them frequently. Lastly, the countryside would like to develop the economy but there is a shortage of labour in the countryside as young people move to urban areas. In summary, this is a good thing that young people chase their dream in the big city, but they still have to take care of elder people who live in the countryside. In addition, the government should think about that how to overcome this issue of the shortage of workers in the countryside.